Welcome to WVC! To return to the homepage simply click on the WVC logo at the top left corner of any page.
Home | About | Contact | News | Programs | Site Index | Español  



Student Programs
Intramurals
Other Information
Services and Activities (S&A) Fees
Staff
Student Organizations
Student Senate
Student Handbook
Back
Get Started Now!


Student Organizations

Activity Council
The activity council coordinates and regulates all student activities on the Wenatchee campus with the approval of the student senate. The activity council, chaired by the ASWVC vice president, is composed of a representative from all organizations on the Wenatchee campus and approves student program scheduling at its monthly meeting. The Omak campus coordinates student activities through the events coordinator with the approval of the student senate.

 

Recognition as a Sponsored Student Program
In order to be officially recognized as participating members of WVC student programs, all organizations must be approved by the ASWVC activity council, the student senate, and the vice president of student development or designee. In addition, intercollegiate athletic programs must have the approval of the athletic director. To charter a new organization, contact the student programs office, (509) 682-6860 (Wenatchee campus) or  (509) 422-7810 (Omak campus).

Officially recognized organizations are eligible to:
1.         Use college facilities
2.         Be included in student publications
3.         Reserve activity dates on the official college calendar
4.         Administer programs for the student senate

 

Clubs and Organizations
Student clubs and organizations provide excellent opportunities for social involvement. For more information, contact the student programs office (509) 682-6860 (Wenatchee campus) or (509) 422-7810 (Omak campus).

Agricultural Students Association (Wenatchee Campus) Promotes agricultural education and stewardship in our community.
Advisers: Leo Garcia, lgarcia@wvc.edu; Francisco Sarmiento, fsarmiento@wvc.edu; Bob Gillespie, bgillespie@wvc.edu

Computer Technology Club (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: David Burns,
dburns@wvc.edu

Criminal Justice Club (Omak Campus)
Advisor: David Lindeblad dlindeblad@wvc.edu 

CRU - Connect (Wenatche Campus) Shows people the love of Christ, gives them an opportunity to accept and build relationships with Him, and sends them out to share the good news.
Adviser: Rob Fitch, rfitch@wvc.edu

HoBiTHAC (Wenatchee Campus) Offers a safe and supportive environment for individuals, both gay and straight, and helps open the minds of others by offering information and advocating diversity.
Adviser:  Joara Minharo, jminharo@wvc.edu

Health and Wellness Club (Omak Campus)
Adviser: Vicki Turner, vturner@wvc.edu

HepCat Swing Club (Wenatchee Campus) Provides opportunities to students and the community to enhance knowledge of swing and jazz music and dancing from the 1920s to 1950s.  Beginners to advanced dancers welcome. 
Adviser: Cheryl Fritz, cfritz@wvc.edu

Joust Speak! (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Karen Alman, kalman@wvc.edu

Knaves of Knowledge
(Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Craig Vander Hart, cvanderhart@wvc.edu

Knights of Justice
(Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Bob Smet,
rsmet@wvc.edu
 

Knights of Music (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Juel Iwaasa, jiwaasa@wvc.edu

 Knight Techs (Wenatchee Campus) Provides leadership and other skills opportunities to trade and occupational students.
Adviser:  Bob Greiner, bgreiner@wvc.edu

Mechatronics (Wenatchee Campus)
Advisor: Zack Jacobson, zjacobson@wvc.edu

 MEChA International (Wenatchee campus)  Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlan (Chicano Movement of Aztlan).  Strives for educational, cultural, social and political representation of the Latino population.
WVC Adviser: Faviola Barbosa, fbarbosa@wvc.edu

Medical Assistant Student Knights (MASK)(Wenatchee Campus) Enhances, assists and supports the academic and clinical success of each student currently enrolled in the medical assistant program.  Encourages participation in local, state and national conferences.  Helps build confidence in students as skills are developed.
Adviser: Jan Kaiser, jkaiser@wvc.edu

Medieval Mayhem (Wenatchee Campus) Teaches students proper, safe and historical fencing and archery.  Participates in medieval events, demonstrations, and arts and sciences activities.
Adviser:  Kari Erickson, kerickson@wvc.edu

Outbackers (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Michael Nelson, mnelson@wvc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (Wenatchee and Omak Campus) Eta Rho chapter and Alpha Kappa Eta chapter of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society encourages scholarship, leadership and service. Members are active at the local, state, regional, and international levels. Membership is open by invitation to students who carry at least 12 credit hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher.
WVC Adviser:  Dr. Dan Stephens, dstephens@wvc.edu
WVC-O Adviser:  Peter Donahue, pdonahue@wvc.edu

Publishing Club (Omak Campus) Offers all phases of reporting, writing, editing and publishing the monthly newspaper, North News.  The newspaper features articles of interest to students and the community.
Adviser:  Rick Gillespie, rgillespie@wvc.edu

Radiant Knights (Wenatchee Campus) Encourages participation in state and national conferences in radiologic technology.  Club activities provide the opportunity to visit healthcare facilities and enlist speakers pertinent to healthcare. 
Activities Adviser:  Shelly Zimmerman, szimmerman@wvc.edu

Red Road Association (Omak Campus) Focuses on local and national Native American awareness. Also works to dispel myths of the general population about Native Americans and to bridge the gap in communication between communities.
Adviser:  Livia Millard, lmillard@wvc.edu

Refrigeration/Electronics Club (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Greg Jourdan, gjourdan@wvc.edu    

Science Club (Wenatchee and Omak campuses) Learns about science through field trips, activities and discussions outside of the classroom and lab. 
WVC Adviser: Rob Fitch, rfitch@wvc.edu
WVC-O Adviser: Kathleen Johnson, kjohnson@wvc.edu

Student Arts Association (Wenatchee Campus) Provides art related activities, events and other art functions appropriate to student learning.  Incorporates learning, planning and money-raising projects to meet specific goals set by the organization. 
Adviser: Scott Bailey, sbailey@wvc.edu

Student Nurses of North Campus  (Omak Campus) Provides an opportunity for students to become better acquainted with their roles as future professional nurses, while contributing to the quality of student life.  Also enhances academic interest in the health field by providing guest speakers, public health teaching, out-of-town hospital tours and associated activities with the state and national nursing associations.
Co-Advisers: Jenny Capelo, jcapelo@wvc.edu and Tria Skirko, tskirko@wvc.edu

Student Nurses of Wenatchee (Wenatchee Campus) Provides an opportunity for students to become better acquainted with their roles as future professional nurses, while contributing to the quality of student life.  Also enhances academic interest in the health field by providing guest speakers, public health teaching, out-of-town hospital tours and associated activities with the state and national nursing associations.
Co- Advisers: Jenny Capelo, jcapelo@wvc.edu, Rhonda Yenney, ryenney@wvc.edu

Veteran Knights (Wenatchee Campus)
Adviser: Laura Murphy, lmurphy@wvc.edu

 

 


1300 Fifth Street, Wenatchee, WA 98801
Phone: (509) 682-6800
Public Disclosure | Voter Registration
Disablity Services Disability Services

Donate Today!

116 West Apple Ave., Omak, WA 98841
Phone: (509) 422-7800

Last Modified: