WVC Faculty and Staff Awards

WVC employees recognized

Outstanding faculty and staff members at Wenatchee Valley College were recognized by colleagues and the WVC Foundation at an awards ceremony on June 4, 2009.


Sharon Wiest of Wenatchee, math instructor, received the Linda Schultz Herzog Faculty Member of the Year Award; Dr. Walt Tribley of Wenatchee, dean of liberal arts and sciences, was given the Outstanding Exempt Employee Award, sponsored by the WVC Foundation; and James Pasta of East Wenatchee, maintenance mechanic, was presented the Outstanding Classified Staff Member of the Year Award, sponsored by the Alcoa Foundation.


The Anna Pieratt Spirit of Wenatchee Valley College Award was presented to the WVC Facilities Department. This award honors an individual or group who has demonstrated the spirit exemplified by Anna Pieratt when she served as executive assistant to the president.


Art faculty members Scott Bailey of East Wenatchee and Kris Zehm of Leavenworth and industrial technology faculty member Zack Jacobson of Leavenworth were given the Alcoa Excellence in Teaching Award, which is a $1,000 grant from the Alcoa Foundation for educational program enhancement. The funds will be used for software used in a new series of courses being developed in three-dimensional computer aided design and manufacturing.


Service awards were presented to employees who reached a milestone in their number of years of service at Wenatchee Valley College.


Jim Cannon of Entiat was recognized with a framed plaque for teaching economics and history at WVC for 40 years. Thirty-year service awards were presented to Thelma Achamire of Okanogan, library and archives paraprofessional at the Omak campus; Cathern Williams of Wenatchee, office assistant in central services; Jim Steiner of Cashmere, carpenter and former building technology faculty member; and David Lindeblad of Omak, basic skills faculty member at the Omak campus.


Trees will be planted in honor of those with 25 years of service. They include Sherry Hemphill of Wenatchee, who teaches business information technology; Carol McMillan of Omak, who teaches biological and social sciences at the Omak campus; Carla Scherer of Wenatchee, who teaches basic skills; Kathi Rivers Shannon of Cashmere, executive director of community relations; and Barbara Morrison of Wenatchee, who teaches business information technology.


Gold WVC pins for 20 years of service were presented to Carie Fisk of Wenatchee; payroll supervisor; James Pasta of East Wenatchee, maintenance mechanic; and faculty members Dr. Stephen Berard of Wenatchee (world languages), Rob Fitch of Wenatchee (biology), Anne Gardner of Malaga (math), Celia Hall-Thur of Wenatchee (history), Jack Johnson of Peshastin (English), Gerald Tiffany of East Wenatchee (English), Shelly Zimmerman of Wenatchee (radiologic technology), and Peter Prehn of Leavenworth (adult basic education).


Framed certificates for 15 years of service went to Michael Choman of East Wenatchee, business and accounting faculty member; Sharon Eagle of East Wenatchee, nursing faculty member; Roy Hale of East Wenatchee, custodian; Tim Marker of Wenatchee, human resources assistant; Livia Millard of Omak, counselor at the Omak campus; Roger Montanez, custodial supervisor at the Omak campus; Jan Petrie of Wenatchee, WVC Foundation executive director; Janice Stutzman of Malaga, developmental English faculty member; Gary Vandegrift of Malaga, bookstore manager; and Vicki DeRooy of Wenatchee, art faculty member.



Framed certificates for 10 years of service went to Zack Jacobson of Leavenworth, industrial technology faculty member; Fran Moser of Entiat, financial aid program specialist; Mary Rabchuk of Okanogan, information technology specialist at the Omak campus; Sue Root of Omak, allied health program coordinator at the Omak campus; Beverly Warman of Peshastin, chemical dependency studies program faculty member; Mary Watson of Chelan, associate dean of workforce education; and 11 employees from Wenatchee: Linda Beebe, bookstore fiscal technician; Carla Boyd, special populations coordinator; Art Broughton, information technology specialist; Dr. Ralph Dawes, earth sciences faculty member; Olivia Drakes, library and archives paraprofessional; Jan Kaiser, medical assistant faculty member; Heather Maddy, administrative assistant, Bruce Maxwell, registrar, Shelly Pflugrath, fitness lab manager and fast-pitch softball coach; Vivian Sarles, math faculty member, and Steven Stefanides, biology and chemistry faculty member.


Two retirees, sociology faculty member John Kalahar of Wenatchee and fiscal technician Wanda Rasmussen of Wenatchee, were also honored.