MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES WENATCHEE VALLEY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 15 WENATCHEE, WASHINGTON January 16, 2019

<u>Trustees present</u> Phyllis Gleasman, Chair Tamra Jackson, Vice Chair Phil Rasmussen June Darling Martha Flores

The board work session was opened by Chair Phyllis Gleasman at 10:00 a.m. Major agenda items included post tenure reports, sabbatical reports, mission fulfillment/core theme indicators, annual contract review, foundation update, and advisory committee report. Executive session was held to discuss personnel issues.

The regular board meeting was opened by Chair Phyllis Gleasman at 3:00 p.m. Also in attendance were Assistant Attorney General Steve Bozarth, students, classified staff, and administrators.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. November 21, 2018, Board Meeting Minutes

MOTION NO. 2283

Tamra Jackson moved that the minutes of the November 21, 2018, board of trustees meeting be approved. The motion was seconded by Phil Rasmussen and carried unanimously.

CELEBRATING SUCCESS

2. Accreditation Granted by CCNE for BSN Program Correspondence was received from the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) that accreditation for the baccalaureate degree program in nursing has been granted and will be effective March 14, 2018, through December 31, 2023.

INTRODUCTION OF NEW EMPLOYEES

3. Introduction of New Employees: Reagan Bellamy, Executive Director of Human Resources The following new employees were introduced: Charlie Robb, manager of capital projects and space planning; Edgar Salamanca, program assistant for CAMP; and Joseph Andreason, IT specialist 2.

SPECIAL REPORTS

4. Luz Estrada, ASWVC Wenatchee President A written report from Luz Estrada was included in the board information packet.

SPECIAL REPORTS (continued)

- Adrian Carrillo, ASWVC Omak President Adrian Carillo reported on the success of the 50th Anniversary WVC Omak Open House as well as various club and student activities.
- 6. Patrick Tracy, AHE President A written report was not submitted by AHE President Patrick Tracy.
- 7. Mike Nelson, WPEA Chief Shop Steward A written report was not submitted by WPEA Chief Shop Steward Michael Nelson.

STAFF REPORTS

- 8. Brett Riley, Vice President of Administrative Services Brett Riley did not add to his written report.
- **9.** Tod Treat, Interim Vice President of Instruction Tod Treat reported that he traveled to WSU with Dean Joey Walter to discuss the possibility of WVC offering a BAS in agriculture.
- **10.** Chio Flores, Vice President of Student Services Oh behalf of Chio Flores, Libby Siebens reported on activities taking place during safety week. She added that the Hall of Fame Athletic Auction takes place February 1, 2019.
- **11. Jim Richardson, President** President Richardson reported that MESA Director Karina Vega-Villa has been elected to the Wenatchee School Board.

ACTION

12. New Policy 500.405 Service Animal: Reagan Bellamy, Executive Director of Human Resources New Policy 500.405 Service Animal addresses the new law that goes into effect January 2019 regarding penalties for misrepresentation of a service animal.

MOTION NO. 2284

<u>Phil Rasmussen moved that the board approve new Policy 500.405 Service Animal. The motion was</u> seconded by June Darling and carried unanimously.

(New Policy 500.405 Service Animal attached as Exhibit A)

13. Sabbatical Leave Request: Jim Richardson, President

Recommendations for sabbatical leave follow the process outlined in the AHE contract, Article VII, Section H.2.

The professional development committee received one application from faculty seeking professional (sabbatical) leave during the 2019-2020 academic year. The applicant is Shane Hendrickson, chemistry instructor. The committee carefully reviewed, considered and evaluated the application according to the guidelines of the sabbatical leave. The committee came to a decision to recommend a one-quarter sabbatical to Shane Hendrickson during 2019-2020.

MOTION NO. 2285

Martha Flores moved that the board approve a one-quarter sabbatical leave for Shane Hendrickson during the 2019-2020 academic year. The motion was seconded by Tamra Jackson and carried unanimously.

3:17 p.m. Meeting adjourned

Secretary

Chair