MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES WENATCHEE VALLEY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 15 WENATCHEE, WASHINGTON March 20, 2019

10:00 a.m. – Board of Trustees Work Session	Room 5015A. Van Tassell
3:00 p.m. – Board of Trustees Meeting	
	······································

Trustees present
Phyllis Gleasman, Chair
Tamra Jackson, Vice Chair
Phil Rasmussen
Martha Flores

The board work session was opened by Chair Phyllis Gleasman at 10:00 a.m. Major agenda items included review of mission fulfillment/core theme indicator report/year 7 self-study and 2019-2020 student fee schedule. Executive session was held to discuss tenure review and personnel issues.

The regular board meeting was opened by Chair Phyllis Gleasman at 3:00 p.m. Also in attendance were faculty, students, classified staff, and administrators.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. February 20, 2019, Board Meeting Minutes

MOTION NO. 2289

Tamra Jackson moved that the minutes of the February 20, 2019, board of trustees meeting be approved. The motion was seconded by Phil Rasmussen and carried unanimously.

CELEBRATING SUCCESS

2. Recognition of the Men's and Women's Basketball Teams

Both the men's and women's basketball teams qualified for the NWAC Sweet 16 Championship Tournament. The men's team, led by Coach Jeremy Harden, was 8-8 in conference; and the women's team, led by Coach Rachel Goetz, was 13-3. The men were eliminated in the first round, but the women claimed the NWAC Women's Basketball Championship – first time in 38 years! In addition, the women's team posted a 3.27 GPA fall quarter and had five women named to the All-NWAC Academic list.

INTRODUCTION OF NEW EMPLOYEES

3. Introduction of New Employees: Reagan Bellamy, Executive Director of Human Resources New employee Debra Maxwell, accountant, was introduced.

SPECIAL REPORTS

4. Luz Estrada, ASWVC Wenatchee President

Luz Estrada reported that she will travel to Olympia on March 25, 2019, with President Richardson and Trustee Phil Rasmussen to meet with legislators.

SPECIAL REPORTS (continued)

5. Adrian Carrillo, ASWVC Omak President

Adrian Carrillo reported on the many events planned for spring quarter. He added that the process of both campuses coming together to work on the by-laws and financial code was very rewarding.

6. Patrick Tracy, AHE President

A written report from AHE President Patrick Tracy was not submitted.

7. Mike Nelson, WPEA Chief Shop Steward

A written report from WPEA Chief Shop Steward was not submitted.

STAFF REPORTS

8. Brett Riley, Vice President of Administrative Services

Brett Riley did not add to his written report.

9. Tod Treat, Interim Vice President of Instruction

A written report from Interim Vice President of Instruction Tod Treat was included in the board information packet.

10. Chio Flores, Vice President of Student Services

Chio reported that the Stand Against Racism event will take place on the Omak Campus on April 24 and on the Wenatchee Campus on April 25, 2019.

11. Jim Richardson, President

President Richardson congratulated trustee Phyllis Gleasman for her recent confirmation by the senate.

ACTION

12. Tenure Review: Jim Richardson, President

All tenure files were reviewed by the board of trustees and the files were discussed during executive session. Faculty member Melissa Fowler was previously tenured faculty at Wenatchee Valley College and resigned from her position in June 2015. Melissa was rehired in December 2017 and has successfully completed three quarters of full-time, tenure-track employment

MOTION NO. 2290

Phil Rasmussen moved that Jeffery Bullock, Brigid Chvilicek, Kristy Kappenman, Lindsay Henning, Jennifer Korfiatis, and Kestrel Smith be granted second year probationary status after the successful completion of three quarters. The motion was seconded by Tamra Jackson and carried unanimously.

MOTION NO. 2291

Tamra Jackson moved that Geoff Ball, Tom Doherty, Arius Elvikis, Kristin Lindell, and Sai Ramaswamy be granted third year probationary status after the successful completion of six quarters. The motion was seconded by Martha Flores and carried unanimously.

MOTION NO. 2292

Martha Flores moved that Samuel Hart Johnson, Kerin Keys, Andrea Morrell, Cameron Painter and Ben Van Dyke be granted tenure status after the successful completion of nine quarters. The motion was seconded by Phil Rasmussen and carried unanimously.

ACTION (continued)

12. Tenure Review: Jim Richardson, President (continued)

MOTION NO. 2293

<u>Phil Rasmussen moved that Melissa Fowler be granted tenure status after the successful completion of spring quarter.</u> The motion was seconded by Tamra Jackson and carried unanimously.

13. Revised ASWVC By-Laws/Constitution: Chio Flores, Vice President of Student Services

The ASWVC presented minimal changes to the ASWVC by-laws/constitution that included positon updates, general wording and formatting.

MOTION NO. 2294

<u>Tamra Jackson moved that the board approve the revised ASWVC By-Laws/Constitution as presented.</u> The motion was seconded by Phil Rasmussen and carried unanimously.

(ASWVC By-Laws/Constitution attached as Exhibit A.)

14. Revised ASWVCO By-Laws/Constitution: Chio Flores, Vice President of Student Services

ASWVCO decided to adopt ASWVC's new outline of by-laws as their new format and build their new by-laws in accordance with theirs. The Omak senate felt the current constitution and by-laws did not reflect the senate position's titles and duties accurately.

MOTION NO. 2295

Phil Rasmussen moved that the board approve the revised ASWVCO By-Laws/Constitution as presented. The motion was seconded by Martha Flores and carried unanimously.

(ASWVCO By-Laws/Constitution attached as Exhibit B)

15. Revised ASWVC Financial Code: Chio Flores, Vice President of Student Services

The two student senates have been operating procedurally under different Financial Codes. The updated Financial Code presented for approval is an attempt to go back to the prior District 15 Financial Code while also incorporating the new additions used in Wenatchee during the 2018-2019 school year.

MOTION NO. 2296

Martha Flores moved that the board approve the ASWVC Financial Code as presented. The motion was seconded by Tamra Jackson and carried unanimously.

(ASWVC Financial Code attached as Exhibit C)

Secretary		Chair	
5.20 p.m.	wiceting adjourned		
3:26 p.m.	Meeting adjourned		