WVC Employee Awards

Wenatchee Valley College employees recognized

Media Contact: Jim Richardson, president, 509.682.6400, or, Libby Siebens, community relations executive director, 509.682.6436 (Mon.-Thurs.)

June 22, 2015

Outstanding faculty and staff members at Wenatchee Valley College were recognized by colleagues and the WVC Foundation at an awards ceremony on June 9.

Three-time award recipient Zack Jacobson of Leavenworth, industrial technology faculty member, Zack Jacobson, WVC Faculty Member of the Yearreceived the Linda Schultz Herzog Faculty Member of the Year Award, which includes a $1,500 honorarium funded by the WVC Foundation; the Alcoa Excellence in Teaching Award, which also includes $1,500 provided by Alcoa; and the Anna Pieratt Spirit of WVC Award. This award honors an individual or group who has demonstrated the spirit exemplified by Anna Pieratt when she served as executive assistant to the president. Jacobson was selected for his can-do spirit, good sense of humor, putting students first in all things, and for always having an upbeat attitude and a smile. WVC President Dr. Jim Richardson dubbed Jacobson "our triple-crown winner."

WVC Vice President of Instruction, Dr. Carli Schiffner, of Wenatchee, received the WVC Exempt Staff Award, which includes a $1,000 honorarium funded by the WVC Foundation.

Noah Fortner of Wenatchee, office assistant in student development, received the WVC Alcoa Classified Staff Award and a $1,000 honorarium funded by Alcoa.

Ten-year service awards were presented to Dr. David Bennatt of Wenatchee, biology faculty member; Anne Coghlan of Winthrop, nursing faculty at Omak; Michele Gedrose of Cashmere, continuing education program developer; Lynne Kottmeier of Wenatchee, developmental education faculty member; Laura Murphy of Cashmere, veterans coordinator; Tammie Parkinson of East Wenatchee, Foundation coordinator; Richard Ralston of Wenatchee, custodian; and Dr. Jim Richardson of Wenatchee, president.

Fifteen-year service awards were presented to Cecilia Escobedo of Wenatchee, assistant to the vice president of instruction; Angie Jaquish of East Wenatchee, program specialist in financial aid; Riva Morgan of Wenatchee, director of workforce education; Francisco Sarmiento of East Wenatchee, agriculture faculty; and Bev Warman of East Wenatchee, chemical dependency studies faculty.

Twenty-year service awards were presented to Dr. Susan Murray of Wenatchee, institutional effectiveness executive director; Angie Russell of Leavenworth, math faculty; Sharon Wiest of Wenatchee, math faculty.

Twenty-five year service awards were presented to Leo Garcia of Cashmere, agriculture faculty; Donna Henderson of Wenatchee, adult basic skills and developmental education faculty; and Dr. Dan Stephens of Cashmere, biology faculty.

A thirty-year service award was presented to Greg Jourdan of Wenatchee, environmental systems and refrigeration technology faculty.

Evelyn Morgan-Rallios of Omak, Omak campus administrative assistant to the vice president of instruction, received a 35-year service award.

Faculty and staff members who retired this academic year were also recognized at the ceremony: Jim Cannon of Entiat, economics and history faculty; Donna Henderson of Wenatchee, adult basic skills and developmental education faculty; Sandy Cooprider of Wenatchee, physical education faculty; Pamela Wilson-McNamara of Leona, Texas, medical laboratory technology faculty; and Dr. Stephen Berard of Wenatchee, world languages faculty.