Default Font Size Icon

2008 Hall of Fame

Wenatchee Valley College hosted the 2008 Hall of Fame banquet, “A Knight to Remember III,” on Saturday, June 7, 2008, in Van Tassell Center Café on the Wenatchee campus.  The night began with a social gathering where former athletes, family and friends came together and revisited memories of their time at Wenatchee Valley College.  Following the social, guests were treated to a dinner, catered by the Alley Café of Leavenworth, as well as an introduction to the awards and the upcoming 2008 inductees in the Wenatchee Valley College Hall of Fame.

The Athletic MVP Awards for 2008 began with Rosa Vargas of women’s soccer, followed by two-time MVP recipient Wilbur Velasco of men’s soccer.  Next, recipients of the volleyball MVP were Courtney Sawyer and Jessie Carlson.  Lauren Daling was introduced as the women’s basketball MVP, while Tyler Blakney was the recipient of the men’s basketball MVP.  Ranzy York of fastpitch and Curran Redal of baseball were also this year’s recipients of the 2008 Athletic MVP.

Following the MVPs was the Academic Scholarship Award presented by Apple Valley Honda.  These athletes were awarded $1,000 toward their schooling based upon their own academic achievements.  This year’s recipients were Katrina Plucker of fast pitch and Trevor Brink of men’s basketball.

The induction ceremonies began with the Community Support Award, with Sandy Cooprider introducing Howard Mann and Bob and Paul Scea.  Each of these men provided a tremendous amount of support toward Wenatchee Valley College Athletics.  Next were the athlete inductions: Talbot George, football; Tony Bertuca, football, basketball, and track; and Karen Beller Morgan, softball.  Following the athletes were the coaches: Bill Penhallegon, football; Bill Pandiani, men’s basketball; and Jim Sollars, women’s basketball.  In the team induction, the 1978 women’s basketball team was selected along with the 1980 men’s basketball team.

Paul and Bob Scea and Howard Mann were the community boosters who were inducted into the hall of fame for their support of Wenatchee Valley College and the athletic department.

The third-annual hall of fame banquet was organized and sponsored by the Wenatchee Valley College Athletic Club.